How to travel through time

Published:

Intro

Both of my sisters are currently busy with exams, usually my younger sister hangs out with my brother while he does the dishes, but since she’s absent, we hung out as I was doing the dishes.

I enjoy doing the dishes to be honest, I feel like the kitchen in our house sparks my most creative and fringe thoughts. As any older brother does, I start to talk to Dolu (my brother) about time travel. I hadn’t thought about time travel for a while until yesterday. When you watch a lot of sci-stuff as a kid, some ideas persist and others fade.

Time travel stuck with me because I felt if it was cracked there’d be some way to explain in it an academic style white paper or even textbooks and physics formulas that expressed moving through time. That fascinated me alot.

I don’t remember the entire conversation, only the important bits… I said to Dolu, that the universe is just one big container of data, that holds the state.

Data about everything. And when i say everything i mean EVERYTHING.

( I’ll use the word “state” alot in this article. State is the latest description of the details of something)

I also said that what we experience as the flow of time is basically just a mechanism to accommodate for continuous changes to this data.

At this point i pick up a plastic bowl and beat it into a shape and say that what i just did changed the way you would describe the plastic bowl. Some of it’s characteristics changed. It’s position changed. All sorts of stuff about it changed.

At this point, my brother is very confused.

He asked a question which made me examine my argument a little more..

”If I don’t move or breathe and the plastic bowl remains where it was, how come time doesn’t freeze ?”

Both the changes we are able to observe and the ones we cannot will affect the global state. There are several atoms around you changing at a rate that you cannot describe or understand because it’s changing randomly, everywhere, all at once.

I made another statement off the top of my head -

Every time the state changes we move forward in time, with a new version of the universe.

Imagine that the state box contained ALL the data about our universe. All the data about a gazillion and something atoms down to the last detail.

Some atom has decided to move three inches. Some atom somewhere else on the lattice has decided to bobble to the left a little bit due to some other thing. The description of the universe has changed. The snapshot has changed.

Every time this snapshot changes, we move forward in time.

To shift time backwards, you have to reset the global state of aeons of data about the universe to a snapshot of it at the exact point in time you wish to travel into.

To shift time forwards, you would have to accelerate the changes and randomness and arrive at a new snapshot several trillions of iterations ahead.

If you figure out how to keep a log of all the data in the universe and all of it’s changes, you would be able to travel through it by inserting yourself into a snapshot at some arbitrary point in time.

There are some things you would need to figure out though..

Problem 1

When you want to pick a point to travel into, you might experience some hiccups. Our human measurement of time does not correlate to the randomness and frequency of which we actually propagate through state changes.

That means, when we say go back 60 seconds. What does that actually mean when we express time through the stuff that has changed ?

I have NO IDEA. I don’t even know if I’m articulating it right. I should wash plates again this night.

New Research Project - Measuring time as a factor of universe state changes.

Problem 2

You cannot be a part of the state in order to change it. If you try to meddle with state in some way (especially if you’re going backwards in time), your actions ( and it’s side effects ) on other pieces of the state will get logged and then the state gets tangled. That screws it up and adds a lot of weird paradoxes.

Your actions should have no effect on the state of this universe for you to meddle with time or there will be lots of issues.

It is physically impossible to store and keep track of the data required to travel through time with the faculties available to us.

Think about the level of storage, computing etc etc.

Also, on further analysis, your actions of trying to get all of this data will be logged as a state change. It would only be possible if you existed outside of this universe (your data is not a part of state) and you figured out to observe the state (or history) of this universe.

Maybe this is the reason why God doesn’t meddle with our affairs at times, shit can get bat-shit crazy.

New Research Project - How to remove oneself from state.


Did I crack time travel ?

Do you think my reasoning is critically flawed ?

Do you agree with me for some weird reason ?

Tweet at me

Or email me - iyimide@proton.me

Comments coming soon**